Mid-May update

Hello again.

We had a memorial party for Phil in April. It was just  a get-together to celebrate his life, but it was well-attended. I hope I have as many friends as he had.

Once dusk arrived, we set off some Chinese lanterns, with our thoughts and wishes attached. Very emotional.

Since then,  I’ve been trying to be a good boy, and I think I’m making progress. I have been officially diagnosed as diabetic, but at the bottom end of the scale, so if I behave myself I should be able to control it with diet and lifestyle.

I’ve tried to get a bit more exercise, and I’ve changed what I eat and how much. I’ve also made an effort to reduce the amount of sugar, fat, and salt in my diet.

It seems to be working – I’ve lost  a stone and had to buy some smaller trousers. I also don’t get as out of breath on stairs as I used to.

Still along way to go, but I’ll keep at it. More tests to come, to check on my progress, but I’m hopeful things are moving in the right direction.

It’s hard, because there’s a lot of temptation to comfort eat – I miss him so much.

Finally, can I ask a favour, please? We are trying to raise money for cancer research, so Phil’s wife Ann is doing the Race For Life this year. She has set up a page on JustGiving. If you feel that you would like to contribute, we would be honoured. You can find the page here:

http://www.raceforlifesponsorme.org/phils-angels285

Thank you.

Be well.

Dave

Leave a Reply

