Nollick Ghennal*

Well, we’re just coming up to Christmas.

I thought things might be difficult, and they are. It’s been a year and a few days since Phil was diagnosed, but it still feels like yesterday.

At this time of year, I usually like all the festive merriment, but things just seem a little flat this time around. It just brings back too many memories, and gets you thinking.

I don’t usually attend church, but this year I might make an exception. I suppose you could call me “C of E (lapsed)”; I had a fairly conventional introduction to these things while growing up, but have let things slip over the years (as, I suspect, have many others).

This year though, I’m considering attending a Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve. I have always enjoyed the carols and the atmosphere at this service, and I just have a feeling that it’s somewhere I should be.

Here’s hoping you have wonderful Christmas. If I have a seasonal message, it’s to tell you to appreciate those around you – you never know what’s going to happen.

Be well.

Dave

* That’s “Merry Christmas” in Manx!

baubles

Leave a Reply

