One year on

Today is the anniversary of Phil’s passing. Where did that year go?

Maybe it’s because you just have to get on with life, but I have found the last few weeks a little easier, even with my stated misgivings about Christmas. However, today has jumped up and bitten me in the bum again; I’m writing this with tears in my eyes.

That said, I’m sure Phil wouldn’t have wanted me to sit and mope all day, so I will make the effort. There’s always room for a little quiet remembrance, so I will let myself indulge in that at some point – it’s only right.

Meanwhile, through an ironic coincidence, we are off to the theatre tonight to see a stand-up comedian. The tickets were booked more than six months ago, and we didn’t realise the significance of the date until later. I suspect Phil is having a chuckle over that one!

There is a poem I like – you probably know it. I think today would be a good day to repeat it.

Be well.

Dave


Do not stand at my grave and weep,
I am not there; I do not sleep.

I am a thousand winds that blow,
I am the diamond glints on snow,

I am the sun on ripened grain,
I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circling flight.
I am the soft star-shine at night.

Do not stand at my grave and cry,
I am not there; I did not die.

Mary Frye

Leave a Reply

