Taking the Tube

Today I had another gastroscopy, as a follow up to the one from last year; part of the process of “checking me out”, which I described in an earlier post.

Have you ever had a long (and I mean looong!) tube poked down your throat? It has a camera attached, so the doctors can see what’s going on inside you. If they find something interesting, or just to be on the safe side, they push a thinner tube inside the first, which has a device for taking samples attached. Yes, you read that right – they chop off some bits to test in the lab later…

It’s a very strange feeling – there is no pain, but you can feel something odd happening at various points in your digestive tract. (You also can’t help taking in air while this is going on, so there are some interesting after-effects!).

I’m happy to say I seem to be reasonably OK, I just need to see my GP to check on something, but it’s not too serious.

As part of the procedure, I had my blood sugars tested, and the reading was much better than when I was first diagnosed as diabetic. Hopefully this means that I’m heading in the right direction.

In addition, I’ve managed to stop the weight gain, and I’m now losing it again, so that’s good too.

So, although it’s been an odd day, I’m reasonably happy. The only problem is that it starts you thinking about why you’re doing it in the first place…

Such is life.

On the emotional front, I’m still grumpy, irascible, irritated by the slightest thing, and generally miserable. My professional skills (I’m an IT Trainer) have been useful – they say all teachers are actors –  so I put on a cheery front most of the time. It helps you and others get through the day, but I wonder if it’s really the right thing to do. Time will tell.

Thanks again for taking the time to read my ramblings. Please feel free to comment if you have any thoughts.

Be well.

Dave

Leave a Reply

