Changes

Well, here we are again. Not  too much to report this time, but it has been an interesting few weeks.

Firstly, I have a sneaking suspicion that there may finally be a tiny glimmer of light at the end of a very long tunnel. I have found that the unending gloom seems to be lifting a little. I’m still cranky and intolerant, but I don’t have quite so much of the underlying emptiness.

However, balancing that, is the fact that we are in the middle of a major restructuring process at work, which involves losing about a quarter of the workforce. This may include me. Even if it doesn’t I will be without a good many friends and colleagues, some of whom I have known for nearly 15 years. Workloads for those left will increase enormously as well.

As you might imagine, this does not enhance feelings of well-being. It’s certainly not helping me to climb out of the pit. I’m beginning to wonder if that light I can see isn’t just a train coming the other way…

I have been somewhat distracted over the last couple of weeks by my favourite sporting event, the Isle of Man TT Races. I get really involved, which does tend to take my mind off things. Unfortunately, they’ve now finished for this year, so there’s now a long wait until the last week in May next year.

I’ve also been somewhat concerned about an unplanned but rather large expense that has just occurred. Suffice it to say that dentistry is not cheap! I know it’s something that has to be done, but it couldn’t really have come at a worse time. Oh well, such is life. Everything else is just sort of ticking along on the health front, so I can’t really complain, I suppose.

I suppose if I have any message about the situation I am in, it is that you should not give up, however tempting it might be. We all respond differently, over different periods of time,  but it is possible to come through it all – just keep going.

Be well.

Dave

Leave a Reply

